Over 58 years have passed since Bruce McCarty and Robert Holsaple formed Bruce McCarty and Associates which would evolve to consistently be one of the leading design practices in East Tennessee and the greater Tri-Cities region.

Since that time, McCarty Holsaple McCarty Architects continues to provide thoughtful solutions that shape Knoxville and its surrounding communities. MHM prides itself in offering much more than design services, partnering with our clients to envision a beautiful, functional, and sustainable world with built projects that leave each place better than we found it.

McCarty Holsaple McCarty Architecture Firm
McCarty Bullock Holsaple Architecture Firm
Arts & Architecture Building at University of Tennessee Knoxville
Airport in East Tennessee by MHM Architects & Interior Designers
MHM Architectural Firm office

1957  Bruce McCarty selected to design “House that HOME Built” for NBC’s “Home Show.”

1965  Bruce McCarty and Associates is established.

1970  Bruce McCarty proposes formation of the Community Design Center.

1972  McCarty selected to design Knoxville City County Building with Lindsey and Maples

1975  McCarty wins two-stage competition for Art and Architecture Building at UT.

1976  McCarty becomes Executive Architect for the design of the 1982 World’s Fair.

1984  Doug McCarty becomes president.

1990  Doug McCarty, Bill Blakenship, Jeff Johnson, and Rick Norris become directors.

1996  Bruce McCarty receives AIA ETN Gold Medal.

1999  MHM is selected as design architect for McGhee Tyson Airport.

2000  David Collins becomes a director.

2002  MHM selected as architect for Knoxville Convention Center.

2005  MHM selected as architect for Neyland Stadium renovations.

2006  MHM selected as architect for Tennessee Theater historic renovation.

2009  Doug McCarty receives AIA ETN Gold Medal.

2010  MHM selected as architect for new UT Student Center in joint venture with BMA.

2014  MHM selected as architect for The Daniel historic renovation.

2015  Margaret Butler, Nathan Honeycutt, Barbara Tallent, John Thurman, Li Wang, and Scott Webb become directors.

2017  MHM renovates office in Bank of America building.

2019  Jeff Johnson receives AIA ETN Gold Medal.

2020  Margaret Butler, Nathan Honeycutt, John Thurman, and Li Wang, become principals.

2021  Doug McCarty recognized as an AIA Fellow.

2022  MHM selected to partner with on the design for the ’s second campus project.

2023 MHM’s inaugural research project receives Citation Award at AIA East Tennessee Awards Gala.